Why women are bad managers?

Why women are bad managers

Long ago I read this and I wrote it down but I don’t remember the source. Please tell me if you know it:

A business man is aggressive, a business woman is pushy. He stands firm, she is hard. His judgments are her prejudices. He isn’t afraid to say, she is mouthy. He exercises authority, she is power mad.

But to what extent this is right? From a personal experience, everyone I met who dealt with a woman manager would confirm the statement above.

Some would argue that the argument is basically not valid, and the differentiation between men and women managers is not accepted. There are good and bad managers in both sexes.

I don’t agree because whether we accept it or not men and women are different in dealing and reacting to certain situations.

I don’t know on what basis or research the writer reached this conclusion. But from a personal view and observation this reflects a lot of reality.

But because I don’t want to seem biased towards women managers, I decided to examine, from my point of view, what makes women good or bad managers.

Why women are bad managers:

  • Women are more personally engaged. They tend to handle business or political situations on a personal level. Because of this, women are not able to handle most cases objectively and neutrally with certain detachment;
  • They are easily influenced and affected. This why it said: “His judgments are her prejudices”. It is really hard for women to deal 100% rationally with incidents in her life. They usually build there judgments on insufficient and one-sided information.

Why women are good managers:

  • Because they are more personally engaged, they are able to handle human situations more deeply. Especially in dealing with subordinates and special business cases.
  • Women are generally more open minded than men. They are more willing to accept a change and they have a more open eye on changing factors.
  • Women are more into the details of things while men care more about the big picture.

I finally want to say that, on a psychological level, no one is totally masculine or feminine. So many men have some of the characteristics of women. I mean you can never describe George W. Bush as a 100% masculine character. Nor you can say Angela Mercer or Condoleezza Rice are 100% feminine.

Let’s get the discussion started. I would love to hear what different people think about this. What’s your personal experience with women as mangers?

AFterthought

(09 Oct 07)

After some online and offline discussions about the issue I have a new idea.

As mentioned in the comments below, the point of discussion is not how bad and good women managers are. Being a bad or a good manager is a broad issue to be discussed in a blog. It has so many dimensions to be based on and it is not at all a gender issue.

I wanted to make this clear in order to follow the discussion in a healthy way. Unfortunately women comments (except Karima) are subjective and attacking. I hope women in future comments will be able to successfully represent their gender.  

What I am interested in are certain characteristics generally noted in women managers. Those are positive and negative characteristics listed above. Those are not scientifically proven but are generally noticed in the business environment.  

The idea that I reached is that negative characteristics are not associated with “emotionally stable women”. Women who are emotionally healthy do not have those characteristics. In fact, they are more able to engage personally and positively more than men do.

What do you think?

41 Responses to “Why women are bad managers?”


  1. 1 Qusai October 7, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    I think that your point is very arguable, because everyone of us has his own experience with a woman manager, but in general women are usually build there judgments on insufficient and one-sided information.
    on the other hand sometimes you find exceptions, so, maybe she has sufficient qualifications besides she thinks twice in any case she faced, then she judges objectively.
    finally, my personal experience about that is I have met an unique woman manager, she is as sharp as a knife, adorable, close to heart,charming, honest, open-minded, and a woman.
    she comes once in life, and will never come again…

  2. 2 dovelove October 7, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    You just don’t quite connect all the dots, do ya’ Ezi Go? I see this statement as a tongue-in-cheek kinda thing. It’s essentially saying the same thing about men and women, just putting a negative term to it for women and a euphemistic one for men. Anyone making this statement to be taken seriously is either an idiot or has the desire to keep women in their place — that is, hoping this will keep women from expressing their INHERENT strong and powerful tendencies (agressiveness and authoritativeness when necessary, and in the degree that’s appropriate) for fear they might not be “womanly” enough otherwise. That is, hoping women will take this ludicrous statement and say, “Oh my, I better hold back or I’ll look like a man…or gawd forbid, a bitch.” LOL

    Give it up Ezi Go, you’re never gonna rightfully keep men above women. Men and women are essentially the same thing — human beings :) They have different anatomy, but both genders have both masculine AND feminine energy. There are incredibly stupid men and women, there are incredibly brilliant women and men. There are very “masculine” and strong women and very “feminine” and weak men. But in general, the only reason each tends to go to one extreme (very “womanly” or “macho”) or the other is PRIMARILY due to the pressures of society to live up to an unnatural ideal. Each gender tends to HOLD BACK that energy that makes them less “manly” or less “womanly.”

    It’s time to stop holding back :) It’s time to allow ourselves to be all that we are — both feminine and masculine, without holding any of it back. When we allow both our energies to flow in wisdom as we feel them within us, men and women will truly begin to connect, they’ll become healthy and balanced individually and with each other…there will be no need for such idiotic distinctions per your statement above. This will heal our world from all the crap that we’ve created by all this holding back, and the consequent lack of genuine love between men and women. Stop trying to separate women from men, sweetie, it’s a losing game. With regard to our humanness, we truly aren’t that different :)

    Dove

  3. 3 EziGo October 7, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Qusai, Thanks for your comment. It’s nice to hear about this seemingly lovely manager of yours. And I hope it will happen again.

  4. 4 EziGo October 7, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Thanks Dove, it’s a nice compliment to my post. A person like you is a perfect proof that what you said is true. But it’s not always the case.

    I am the last one in the world who would differentiate (or put men above women) especially in the human level. This is something I totally reject and you should know from pervious discussions between us. If that’s what you concluded, you probably missed my argument.

    What I am interested in is the way men or women react in power relationship situations (like business or politics). Because I believe that the difference is not only “anatomy”. And when I say difference, that doesn’t make a gender above the other.

    What I’m trying to say is that men and women are different in the business atmosphere. I don’t have a scientific proof of that. But if you make a survey maybe you will reach the same result. That’s why I wanted to post this and hear what people around the world may say.

    I have been in the business environment for about 7-8 years now and everyone I know till now would confirm women are generally more prejudiced than men.
    Why don’t you try to neutral for sometime and ask your friends or even yourself about real life experiences that you had.

  5. 5 dovelove October 7, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    Ah, bless your heart… You seem to have this absurd and most unwarranted need/desire to condescend to me, just as before, (and likely toward other women as well) and you’re apparently too young and/or lacking in wisdom and astuteness to even recognize this.

    I tell ya’ what, little one, I’ve been in the business world for decades…and in this world for almost a half century :) Consequently, I don’t need your advice as to how to come by my knowledge or opinions. I stand firmly by what I previously said.

    But I can’t resist interjecting this…(but I won’t be commenting on your blog again). What is “always the case”?? That men are always good managers? LOL Yeee-aaa-uh, white men have managed to MANAGE our country into the horrific pile of mess that it is in right now. Counter that, sweetie :) You haven’t got a leg to stand on — idiots and vipers are running our country, running it into the ground, trashing our freedom, destroying our world…raping our basic human rights, especially the rights of women.

    Now, quiet your own mind for just a nano-second :) Would you have told a man, your boss, a male friend this: “Why don’t you try to neutral for sometime and ask your friends or even yourself about real life experiences that you had.” Hahaha, unbelievable.

    I hesitated to post on your blog again, and have ignored other requests from you to do so for the above-mentioned reason…and because you simply don’t have the, um, higher level of thinking that I prefer. But maybe I didn’t totally waste my time here, just maybe I put a tiny little ding in your archaic thinking? :)

    Please don’t email me again for my opinion. I have no desire to interact with you further.

  6. 6 karima October 7, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I see that gender discussions are always bringing some spicy atmosphere!!
    I think that neither women nor men need to prove themselves to each other, or fight to get the trophy of who is best. For me there is no best or worst, there is only different and imperfect. talking about gender is just like talking about young and old managers, or talking about Japanese or American mangers for instance. Each has its way in doing business, and each way has its upsides and downsides. this on one hand.
    on the other hand, I think that we missed to point out that both men and women are imperfect, and that being trained and given proper education and guidance they both make up to be good Managers. However, I feel that women have been denied the ability to learn and to improve themselves. and that quote have been coming from daily experiences which cannot be taken for a rule. I explain myself: when the title says Are women bad managers? for me it sounds like they are bad managers, and they will never be good managers, and even if we teach them good management rules, they will be unable to improve themselves. Which is A)Not true and B) do apply for men as well, because bad Men Managers is not just a myth but there are a lot.
    Let’s say that men can be as bad as women, and women can be as good as men. I think that men tend to judge women from the point of view of a “male manager”. it means that they easily see some imperfections in women managers so easily because they base their judgements on the style of men. For instance, if you take an orange and an apple to compare, you can easily say the difference and what you dislike (you will notice easily that the orange is acid compared to the sweet apple for example). However, they fail to compare two male managers and define their imperfections. If you take two apples to compare, it takes some attention and further knowledge to tell which one is fresher, which one has more juice etc.. .

  7. 7 EziGo October 7, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Dovelove,

    What you said is a typical example of a woman’s reaction. You barely read or digested half of what I said and based you judgment on a personal reaction. Sit back and read what you said. You will find plain arrogance and uncontrollable woman in defiance.

    When I explained to you what I needed and asked you to be neutral and examine the issue more carefully I thought to myself: this is when she will have a break to do more research and come back to me with a more detailed answer. This is what a mature person (man or woman) would have done.

    But then I though that if the subject of the post is true, she would come back to me with comment just like you did; Pure attacking and uncontrollable.

    Look at your self giving the proof of what you mostly resisted.

    At the moment I am trying to expect what your reaction will be. Will you act like an “old one” dealing with a “little one”, will you just keep silent and think about how you spent years in business and are you really what is described above (it’s now obvious that you are). Or will you come back with a harsher attack picking some of my sentences to attack me. Let’s watch and see what a mature woman with a “higher level of thinking” would do.

    For me your current (and future) comments will not be deleted or edited (unless I find them intolerable) and for sure I will not contact you any further for discussion as it is proven to me now that you are not simply “up to”.

    Thanks for giving proof to my case.

  8. 8 amandalinn October 8, 2007 at 5:36 am

    I find it amusing that Ezi Go still doesn’t seem to get the intentional irony of the quote he based this blog entry on, even after having it explained to him explicitly. (Or possibly he does now but is too embarrassed to admit it.)

  9. 9 EziGo October 8, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Karima,

    Thanks for your comment. At least now I have one moderate mature answer from a woman.

    Definitely agree with you, there are bad managers in both sexes. Being a woman or a man does not imply being good or bad. By the way the title: “are women bad mangers?” is just an attracter. I mean being bad or good is a broad discussion and can’t be approached in a weblog. The argument that I am making is that there are certain characteristics of women in power relationship situations.

    And I still believe there are differences. I don’t know if those differences are gender related or are they connected to psychological tendency toward feminine or masculine. Let’s hear more comments and see.

  10. 10 EziGo October 8, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Amandalinn,

    In fact this quote was made in linguistics to show the power of word change to give a negative or a positive implication. I don’t totally believe it is true or else I wouldn’t open the discussion so widely.

    The weird thing happened before I post this. This statement can be confirmed by so many in the business environment and not all of them are men.

    Furthermore, if you actually followed the thread of comments you would most probably find a proof this statement.

  11. 11 amandalinn October 8, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    “I don’t know on what basis or research the writer reached this conclusion.”

    He or she probably reached the conclusion based on folks like you.

    “Furthermore, if you actually followed the thread of comments you would most probably find a proof this statement.”

    Since the author’s conclusion was that women get treated negatively for the same sorts of behaviors that men get treated positively for, then I see that yes, you did prove this statement by your behavior. Thank you for this demonstration.

  12. 12 dovelove October 8, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Omg, Amanda, you’re cracking me up — thank you! lol Unfortunately, I think he very well may believe you’re agreeing with him in your last statements here, lol Otherwise, you’ve wrapped it up beautifully :)

  13. 13 amandalinn October 8, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Ah well, if we’ve learned anything here, it’s that the blogs displayed on the front page of WordPress are selected totally at random.

  14. 14 EziGo October 9, 2007 at 7:33 am

    Amandalinn,

    That’s how you view it!! For me you fail to follow the concept of the argument. I reinforced several times that I am interested in certain differences in behavior between men and women. I articulated those characteristics in my blog and through the comments.

    Interestingly enough, all comments form women (except Karima) enforce those characteristic. You fail to represent your gender by following an objective valid argument. In stead you deal with it subjectively and attackingly.

    This is how I view it. If you see my behavior demonstrating an opposite idea, it’s up to the viewer of the post to decide.

    However, after online and offline discussions on the subject, I reached a new conclusion. You will find it added to post above.

  15. 15 EziGo October 9, 2007 at 7:35 am

    Further to online and offline discussions on the issue I reached a new idea.

    This is added above to the post under “Afterthought (09 Oct 07)”

  16. 16 amandalinn October 9, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    My point, which I think you still fail to see, is that you based your whole discussion on your own misinterpretation of someone else’s work, a work that is well known and has a common interpretation.

    I suppose when your English teacher told you similar things you assumed she was attacking you.

    If you want to be a successful business writer someday, you should consider writing logically, and using material that backs up your claims rather than saying the exact opposite. (Perhaps a little proofreading would be in order, as well.)

    I hope you find a way to step back and realize I’m not attacking you, but just giving constructive criticism on your writing. You, however, do seem to have an agenda. I’m trying *not* to push your hot buttons but you still seem quite agitated.

    I think almost all managers, male or female, are bad managers, especially without training. I think almost all humans respond in the irrational ways you describe and demonstrate, so the rest of the discussion does not interest me. It’s like arguing if a hungry tiger or a hungry lion will ruin your picnic worse.

    I’m sorry your page happened to be featured under “Business” on WordPress when I looked at it the other day. I realize now that was random tag selection, and I suppose you weren’t ready for that level of readership.

    I’ll leave you alone now; I’ve looked around but the rest of your blog does not interest me either.

  17. 17 EziGo October 10, 2007 at 7:28 am

    Thanks amandalinn for your harsh comment. Although your “constructive criticism on my writing” means nothing to me and I think “my agenda” is none of your business.

    This is a personal blog and everybody is welcomed to view and comment. I am surprised you’re so much judgmental that you couldn’t find anything interesting in the rest of my blog. But as you said I am not ready for your level of readership (how arrogant are you to say this).

    I will not further comment on this. I will the leave the conclusion to the viewers of post.

  18. 18 EziGo October 18, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Strangely enough, most of the clicks coming from search engines to this post are from people searching for phrases like: “can women be good managers?”.

  19. 19 Rasha May 21, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I know that I am late but never too late.
    Let’s start with “Long ago” how long? I mean in which century?
    As soon as we say “Manager”, immediately we think about leadership, power, authority, planning, judgment, etc….
    But the adjectives of “Pushy, Hard, Mouthy, and Power mad” are usually used to describe women in general and not Managers.
    Managing has two channels: Technical and Admin, and up to my understanding the writer wanted to highlight the admin side only which is not fair.
    A woman can easily put a manager’s mask at her work place like any other human being (Man or Woman), and she can success or fail.
    Now I would like to go to the English-English dictionary and translate these words:
    • Aggressive: Have angry feelings.
    • Pushy: Paying great effort to attack.
    • Firm: Fairly hard, not likely to change.
    • Hard: Firm and solid, not easy to bend.
    • Not afraid to say??? But u didn’t explain to say what??
    • Mouthy: not mentioned in the dictionary (No meaning…).

    That’s all what I wanted to say.

    Wish you luck with your Female manager if you have any…

    Rasha

  20. 20 EziGo May 21, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Rasha, thanks for your comment and beautiful addition.

    one of the interesting questions that I wasn’t able to solve in my life is the real difference between men and women. of course there are a lot of variables which control this formula.

    in the context of business, so many people argue that women are not like men (especially when it comes to management). in this article I tried to see where is that difference (whether good or bad).

    by the way the quote above does not reflect my personal opinion, although I started with it.
    :-)

  21. 21 wael kfori August 18, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Dear Majed
    it is nice topic to be discussed ,
    manager lady is a lady .
    she can not under any circumstances balance , either to be manager or lady .
    manager is male word can not be mixed with female .
    the marrige is brohabited ……

  22. 22 SuperBokke January 15, 2009 at 12:53 am

    I have to say that I agree with the blogger, I’ve had a lot of managers who were women (I think around 6) and apart from 1 who was very good, the rest were shocking!

    They dealt with situations in a very emotive fashion and their level of professionalism was non-existent in some cases. I found there to be a hidden agenda, in most cases it was her trying to blame me for things going wrong in order to hide her incompetence.

    When you talk about hard vs pushy I can relate to this. I found with some of these women managers in trying to be firm and assertive they over compensated and came off as unapproachable, rude and stand-offish…big no-nos as far as being a good manager is concerned! And in trying to appear assertive they seemed to have lost all grasp of their social skills and a few adopted a school teacher-like demeanour automatically presupposing you were either going to you already had complete a task incorrectly, I guess in order to maintain an air of superiority.

    This is where I am convinced that gender politics comes too much into play when you have a women managing a guy, particularly where the age difference isn’t that big. I found this to be prevalent in women who were insecure, they felt the need to over assert their supposed superiority by putting you down and criticising everything you did. Now that isn’t bad management, it is management full stop. The mark of a really poor manager is when they turn day-to-day tasks into a game of one-upmanship.

    Funnily enough the best women managers I had were a lot older than me, 10 – 20 years in some cases, I’m 27. So perhaps the answer really is that with age comes maturity and women are better suited to being managers once they have reached a certain age and have acquired enough managerial acumen in order to manage effectively and practice good judgement which hasn’t been tainted by personal opinions or hidden agendas.

  23. 23 EziGo January 15, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Thanks SuperBokke for sharing your experience.

    I think a key word in what you said is “insecure” which I think absolutely true.

  24. 24 LisaN March 5, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Hi Everyone,

    This is a very interesting forum debating the issues of women in managements.

    I am also conducting a research investigating into the issues of inequality of women in managements to establish
    why there are not enough women on managerial positions compared to men.

    It would be grateful if you could take a few minutes to answer the below survey or pass onto friends and relatives.

    Lisa.

    CLICK HERE OR BELOW FOR SURVEY ——->

    http://FreeOnlineSurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?sid=e6r4vmy3ibiyos8557230
    Survey provided by FreeOnlineSurveys.com
    Source: FreeOnlineSurveys.co…

  25. 25 Nicole April 9, 2009 at 5:29 am

    I read this article, not because I wanted to know why you thought women managers were bad managers, but because I googled if women managers TRULEY make decent managers. To be completley honest . . . .No, they do not. Now, I’m not going to stereotype all women managers, because there are a select few that are caring and reliable, and friendly. Although, I give those women credit, in my experience as a working WOMAN. I have had plenty of women managers in my past, and every single one of them has not only hated me, but has treated me with disrespect, and just plain coldness.

    I think that women have a natural urge for POWER. They love it, they thrive off of it. Now, I am a strong woman, and I have valid opinions when it comes to authority and work related issues. For me being a woman,and for me announcing that I believe that women are bad managers, is a spark because I’ve looked at all the feedback you’re getting from this article, and majority of the feedback is from OTHER WOMEN, complaining how you’re being sexist and not giving women a fair shot at being managers/supervisors.

    For instance, my manager at work is a bitch, I am not joking, I am not stretching the truth, she is cold-hearted.

    One reason why I believe that she and other women make bad managers is because women take their emotions out on other people, especially their co-workers. Women cannot seperate their work lives from their personal lives, and honestly I am one of those people, HOWEVER, I AM NOT a manager, and choose never to become one. They are hated, talked about, and just I would never want to be in that situation, where I have to boss people around. I know as a woman, if I were put in the situation of a woman manager, I would make the same actions as my current manager, and being under her and having to take her authority is HARD, STRESSFUL, and my emotions just get beaten up.

    It’s one thing to not like one of your co-workers, but to completly just shut one employee out, when you are obviously showing guidance to the other 9 people in the work office, that is a managent problem. I feel as though, women just don’t have why it takes to have that much authority.

    I know I blabbed for a lot of this comment, but I definitly agree with your article, and hope to see more of your thoughts.

  26. 26 John B May 11, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Having worked for several fortune 500 companies over the past 25 years, I have worked for 3 women. One was a perfectly fine boss.

    The other two women were judgemental, controlling and mean-spirited. Both situations became intolerable. To extracate myself, I had to leave organization, in one case, and get a transfer to another department in the other.

    So this begs the question– what happen? Obviously, the equation includes both myself and the manager. I tend to work effectively, independently and only ask for help if I need it. Most managers do want a certain amount of ‘ face time’.

    That said, my observation is that women bosses seem to need to be in control of every situation, in great detail. But not all the time; usually only during meetings or after you have completed an assignment.

    Women managers tell you what they don’t like, but not what they want. Every manager has a style, so it is wise to understand their expections. My experience has been that women managers are overly critical of completed work and do not give specific criteria or requirements ahead of time.

    Worse yet, both of the bad woman managers I worked for talked negatively about their subordinates to other subordinates. This is perhaps the most damaging behavior of all because it renders a team disfunctional. Employees not held in high esteem by their boss are thus not respected by their peers and not able to contribute to their full potential. Also, if a manger talks ill of a subordinate to another subordinate, that person has to wonder what the boss is saying about them when they’re not around or thinks that they are part of the bosses inner circle.

    Overly aggressive behavior, on the part of women, seems to be tolerated in the workplace. This makes an overbearing or bullying female boss more dangerous to an organization, since this behavior is too often given a pass.

  27. 27 EziGo May 12, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Thanks John for sharing your experience. I think there are a lot of important points that you discussed perfectly.

  28. 28 akanksha singh May 28, 2009 at 6:52 am

    why can not be
    if they can manage ur home, if they can manage u, if they can manage ur family, so y nt something official.
    its a worst question 2 ask.
    because u r marking question mark on ur very close relationship, i.e., ur mother.
    wat ne1 against wan 2 say abt chadra kochar, indira gandhi. sheela dixit. m nt goin 2 make u 2 count d name as it is really nt possible
    i can just say 4 those ho hav pessimistic view just bring one women 2 the authority 1st den make a conclusion

  29. 29 Jude November 29, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    I should go with the blogger ……

    For years I have been closely observing human behavior ….

    of course Prejudice is the right word to describe a woman … no matter what ….

    many other thing were discussed already ….

    when comes to managing …. what I feel is like ones own Family is also a company ….

    then coming to the question … so whats with the man who cannot really think like a man …. at any given point of time … there are 10% of men who thinks just like women …… that is Prejudice …

    if you closely examine these men’s attitudes, behaviors most of these men are brought up in their Mothers laps ….

    Remember — A child should not be brought up in his mother’s lap — Montaigne.

    what I feel strongly is … if a girl child is brought up almost 90% by his DAD … the dad spending most of the time .. with her …. seeding wisdom in her …… she will be excellent … Most of the present day Manageress are nothing but the ones who are bought up by there DADS or some one .. Male ….

    Remember …. A lady cannot think out of that given area … that is her best Advantage as well as her weakness … as shrewdly by the blogger …….

    so the the Area …. Must be set up the up bringer of hers …. if the girl child’s area is huge … she can be like margaret thatcher or Joan of Arc or Rosa Parks ….etc … else not ….. the common girl ….. who always says though out her … life …” The guys cannot understand me at all ” ….

    90% Men are strong both physically as well as mentally … NO matter what the world say … coz .. its natures law ….. cannot denay at all …… the rest 10% may be physically stronger …. but mentally weak coz of the upbringing in a ladies lap ….. so that 10% slot is taken away by the Ladies …who are born in good families and the Dad has the good wisdom really knowing how to bring up a girl child ……… there are the present day so called Manageress ……………….Tat is all I can say ……………..

    I have nothing against women … I love women ….. I am just 23yrs … I love to have 4 girls as my kids …. because … I understood the formula how a women works …. that is we must bring her just like a guy … teaching her all the wisdom of the world … and just wait for the end results …….. they will be outstanding ……………… for sure…..

    God bless ….. Human race ….. Cheers !!!

  30. 30 The good guy June 28, 2010 at 1:02 am

    I know I’m late but those first two women who were arguing were completley out of hand and incorrect in they’re ” in my opinion” assanine and bitchy comments, please take your comments else where because the original poster seems like a very reasonable man, and yes I have seen my women as managers only a few times and they were embarrasingly pathetic, horrible at best, confused, lacking in leadership, disorganized and irratable. I’m sure there are many good female managers but the majority should leave the business world indefinitly.

  31. 31 Richard November 9, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    All the female managers I have had have sucked. The latest one blames me for things beyond my control (like when my TRAIN is delayed), and ALWAYS jumps to conclusions about what I must be thinking (although she has no clue), she loves the sound of her own voice, so never knows what you are trying to say as you can’t get a word in edgeways. Good God what a load of crap. She also doesn’t seem to be able to trust anybody, the cow. And she needs to lose about 500lbs.

  32. 32 Jane November 9, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Ezi Go,

    I have read all your comments and viewer’s post on this sensitive yet very important matter on human behavior and gender.
    I am only 22 yrs old, going to college for Business Economics, haven’t had a job with a female manager yet…
    I have always been very interested in the differences between men and women…mainly ever since I have been in a relationship with a male manager.
    The world of business, in reality, is a game that was not invented, but created by the male, if you like it or not. Back in the day, unfortunately, women did not have the power, authority, freedom, and time to be part of the workforce. Therefore, most of the rules and attitudes toward business have been established by males.
    This is the time where we need to start doing some rethinking and research on why so many women (including the ones in high power) still feel lost and angered in this male-dominated field.
    I think, as you have stated, insecurity is one of the key sources why women act aggressively and emotional towards almost anything (and I am generalizing now for the purpose of this blog). We have not always been recognized and appreciated for the wonderful things we have contributed to society, and are still suppressed in many different ways, but this is about to change because women have the power to do so (thank the fathers for the freedoms we enjoy in this country, look at the rest of the world and how females are treated, maybe you won’t be that angered and upset because of a harmless literary quote posted by the blogger).
    We were brought up in a completely different fashion than guys. We were sheltered from the evil of this world, it was our responsibility to watch out for other’s feelings, and most importantly we always sought approval and recognition from our teachers and parents by doing the things “we were supposed to do”. Men, on the other hand, value freedom and choice much more than women tend to do. Women, by nature, find things like security much of a more important factor (for obvious reasons like child raising) in their lives.
    For example, I have a difficult time dealing with uncertainty in my life. The reason I am pointing this out is not to criticize, but to recognize the differences between me and my male peers. This characteristic is not necessarily a bad thing, but understanding it allows me to analyze not just me but other people.
    Now coming back to the emotional side of the argument…yes, we as women are ruled by our emotions. And I love ever single bit, the good and the bad, that comes along with it…When we feel threatened, we have the urge to attack and fight in every way possible. We are physically weaker than men, and so we tend to get that extra hormonal rush in order to protect ourselves from danger. The benefits of being emotionally more attentive is that we are able to read people better and connect with our network in a much more meaningful level. And so there are bad and good things about our feelings…
    This is not to say that female managers are incapable of not controlling themselves and therefore make bad authoritative figures. I aspire to be a manager one day, and that does not in any way mean that I have to act any less like a lady. But it’s always a good idea to understand ourselves first, embrace our strengths and weaknesses, only then are we able go out and conquer the world. Don’t attack the men but try to learn from them. They’re not all bad and evil. Once you understand the male psychology, you are able to manipulate the mind game and approach business in a much more neutral fashion. Our female sexuality can be a very powerful thing, don’t abuse it but use it for all the right reasons. Be everything you want to be, don’t take no for an answer, speak up for yourself, don’t lose sight of the big picture and don’t fret about the small things in life…

    • 33 eziGo November 10, 2010 at 11:07 am

      Great contribution Jane .. Thanks :)

  33. 34 Michele November 9, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    I think this is a GREAT article and me being a woman I can honestly say Woman managers, especially young ones, are NOT the way to go. Yes there are accept-ions but woman do take things VERY personally and do attack their peers in a very unnecessary manner. I work with woman managers now and let me give you a list of things they do:

    1. Catty
    2. Take everything personally
    3. Are not able to be professional
    4. Get upset very easily and raise their voice as if they are talking to a child
    5. Are rude to men and woman equally
    6. The title “Manager” gets to their heads and they act like bitches
    7. Make rude comments and think they can because they are the “boss”

    Like I said, there are accept-ions but a very high percentage are not good as managers.

    Sorry, I am a woman and would much rather work for a man. Plus I was raised with 2 very successful brothers who taught me a lot and thanks to them I am able to be a professional woman and not be the above mentioned things.

  34. 35 La La August 30, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I understand what is being said here, but I honestly wish more scrutiny was put on the individual in question, rather than their gender. Everyone is different, honestly, you cannot go by gender when seeing how managers work. I’ve had great female managers, and great male managers. If the woman is ‘catty’ and ‘takes everything personally,’ I think that would require that her maturity level be questioned, not her gender. It’s just like when people say that the more logical explanations are done by men. That is not true, women are just as capable for logic as they are emotion, there is a time for both.
    If a woman comes off as ‘pushy,’ perhaps this may be because women still have to fight to be taken seriously in many workplace situations. I hate to bring up sexism, but it is still alive and well, and maybe women shouldn;t be judged so harshly because of what a lot of us had to go through. Just a theory.
    I do disagree with you Ezi Go, I think there are many aggressive yet compassionate female managers out there. I’ve even heard that because of compassion female managers are better at times. Perhaps since these characteristics (aggression, authority, etc.) aren’t seen as feminine, you give them a negative name? I’m just suggesting that this may be the case, it may not be.
    But I do think we should focus on the individual, because truly, everyone is different, no one should be able to be lumped into a specific category.

    • 36 eziGo August 30, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      Thanks for the comment and for laying down what you think. I want to say first that I do agree with you. There are many examples of very good women managers and very bad men managers. However, we are trying to discuss the general view that women are bad managers; and more importantly that women are seen as bad managers regardless of how good or bad they are. The fact is, too many people have this perception on women managers, and many of them had this idea out personal experience. One reason may be that when you have a bad woman manager you jump into the conclusion that woman managers are bad, but when you have a bad male manager, well he’s just a bad manager.

      I personally think that woman are, by design, made to be better managers. And I believe that in the future they will be much better when we completely get rid of the social power structure that is in place now. Most of the time now a women has to work harder to prove herself and they are always judged and patronized. This leads in a way to social insecurity that a female manager feels which leads to the attitude described in the article.

  35. 37 Sara October 23, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    Women think with their emotions. And I’ve never had a job where a female manager was good to me and treated me equally. I would prefer to work with a man over a woman any day. Less drama.

  36. 38 Dan August 16, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    I would have to agree, women simply haven’t been engineered to manage and take charge the way men have been. Men have been leaders, hunters and warriors since the beginning of time. Women on the other hand have less than a century of being in leadership roles and simply don’t have the skill built into them yet.

    If the human race survives another few hundred years women may gain these skills if we keep grooming them for such positions. They will learn eventually that emotions have no place in an office or business setting. Learn to rationalize regardless of what your emotions push you to do. It really takes away from any ones credibility as a manager.

    I can recollect one female manager that I liked, she was older so she had maturity and I don’t know if it had anything to do with it but she was Irish. Every other female manager I have had have always been irrational in their dealings with people under them from what I have seen.

    Women simply don’t have the breeding for management the way men do. It’s a simple matter of genetics. Girls grow up playing with dolls in home type settings while boys play with action figures in battle settings.
    You do the math. ;-)

  37. 39 micky August 18, 2013 at 11:37 am

    It is not an issue of an individual female making a good or bad manager. Rather, it is how women interact within larger groups, particularly with other females. Unfortunately when many women find themselves in a hierarchy with power distribution, they conduct themselves in a questionable manner. They seem incapable of professional conduct and instead begin an enterprise of ‘bitching’. A horrible word i agree, but one used to describe women’s questionable social interaction, which continues in the business or any other field.

  38. 40 top expert topics March 15, 2014 at 1:03 am

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an
    established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty
    quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not
    sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions?

    Appreciate it


  1. 1 Women managers again « Majd’s Notebook Trackback on September 16, 2008 at 1:51 pm

Leave a Reply

My Home Page 'Click here'

You may choose not to see those who look at the world differently, but you can't ignore them. Those are people who changed the world.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

a

Recent Tweets from the Author


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

